Staff Awards and Recognitions 

Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Teacher Fellowship Program

The Wisconsin-based Herb Kohl Educational Foundation, Inc. recognizes teaching excellence in the State of Wisconsin through their Teacher Fellowship Program. The 100 Fellowship grant recipients each receive a $6,000 grant, and each Kohl Fellowship recipient's school also receives a matching $6,000 grant.

Educators are chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students and ability to motivate others, and for their leadership and service within and outside of the classroom. Oconomowoc Area School District teachers who have received the Herb Kohl Teacher Fellowship are:

  • Mike Olander, 1990
  • Judith Kuehn, 2001
  • Vic Passante, 2001
  • Bette Brandenburg, 2004
  • Michael Krill, 2012
  • Cindy Bourdo, 2014
  • Rebecca Beck, 2015
  • Lynne Carlstein, 2017
  • Lisa Docter, 2019

Herb Kohl Wisconsin Principal Leadership Award

The Herb Kohl Education Foundation, Inc. annually awards Principal Leadership awards to Wisconsin principals and school administrators. The awards recognize the importance of exceptional school leaders who help provide successful school environments for students and faculty members. Each state-level winner will receive a $6,000 grant, along with an additional $6,000 for his or her school. Oconomowoc Area School District principals who have received the Herb Kohl Principal Leadership Award are:

  • Dr. Joseph Moylan, 2016
  • Brian Stuckey, 2018

 Staff Doctoral Recipients

  • William Stout, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2004:  Land Resources
    • Dissertation: Landscape ecology of the Red-tailed Hawk: with applications for land-use planning and education
    • Dr. Stout teaches science and biology classes at Oconomowoc High School. His publications can be found here.
  • Judy Reed, Ph.D. OHS - Special Education
  • Julie Saccomando, Ph.D.  OHS - Special Education

National Board Certification

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards was created in 1987 after the Carnegie Forum on Education and the Economy’s Task Force on Teaching as a Profession released "A Nation Prepared: Teachers for the 21st Century." This policy set forth a vision for accomplished teaching.

To demonstrate standards-based evidence of accomplished practice and become nationally certified, teachers must meet basic eligibility standards, prepare a portfolio of class practices and successfully complete an assessment of knowledge examination administered at a testing station. Oconomowoc Area School District teachers/counselors who have meet the stringent criteria and are nationally certified are:

  • David Weiland, 2006
  • Tina Heinecke-Kurtz, 2008
  • Danielle Chaussee, 2010
  • Cindy Bourdo, 2012
  • Traci Timm, 2013
  • Ashley Bestor, 2018

Special Recognitions

Oconomowoc High School Spanish teacher, Danielle Chausee, was selected for the 2016-17 Teachers for Global Classrooms (TGC) Program. More than 400 teachers applied from 47 U.S. states and the District of Columbia, and she was among 76 teachers who joined this cohort. The program provides K-12 teachers with the opportunity to explore themes and applications for global education in their classrooms, school, and community.

Project Lead the Way

Oconomowoc High School is certified as a Project Lead The Way (PLTW) location, which means that students who take the appropriate courses may earn transcripted credits for college. PLTW prepares students to be the most innovative and productive leaders in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) and to make meaningful, pioneering contributions to our world. Through an engaging, hands-on curriculum, PLTW encourages the development of problem-solving skills, critical thinking, creative and innovative reasoning, and a love of learning.

Oconomowoc High School teachers who have received training in Project Lead The Way are:

  • Robert Blersch, 2008
  • Mark Jappien, 2008

915 E. Summit Avenue
Oconomowoc, WI 53066
Nondiscrimination: The Oconomowoc Area School District provides assurance that no student is discriminated against because of the student's sex, race, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, pregnancy, marital or parental status, sexual orientation, or physical, mental, emotional, or learning disability.
powered by finalsite